A Glimpse of Cirque du Soleil

IMG_4329

Just a quick tip to everyone living in London or anyone planning a visit about Cirque du Soleil Kooza. I had the pleasure of seeing this show yesterday and I have to tell you that it is fantastic! The show is still running until the 3rd of February in Royal Albert Hall so there is still a few weeks left to see this extravaganza.

For those of you who are not familiar with Cirque du Soleil, this Canadian circus group is a team of world’s top talented acrobats, dancers, clowns, actors, gymnasts and art performers. The group tours worldwide but stops in London every January.

Kooza is Sanskrit word for ‘magical container’ and the story of Kooza unfolds after a delivery of a large, magical box to the main character ‘The Innocent’. The magical box delivers to The Innocent a whole new world of Kooza which is full of comic characters, incredible, artistic dancers with twisted flexibility, breathtaking acts on high wire and trapeze and balancing on a tower of chairs, to name just a few of the acts. One of the acts to cause a definite shiver is the Wheel of Death: two wheels connected to each other, rotating with high speed, two acrobats performing jumps or skipping whilst keeping the momentum of the rotation going in tandem. All accompanied with dramatic heavy metal music and outfits of performers. Maybe this is an idea for the next Lordi music video!

The director of Kooza is a former clown of Cirque du Soleil and fun episodes of jokers balance the daring acts. Although the seats close to the stage are of course the best for marvelling the performers’ talent, they also provide the risk of being taken to the stage to participate in the show. In my opinion the best seats are on the grand tier facing off directly to the stage . They are worth the money as the staging is not always set up in the best possible way to follow the performance from all angles.

Go before it’s over! I on the other hand might give a go to the circus class in my local gym.

Royal Albert Hall ready for the spectacular Cirque du Soleil

Royal Albert Hall ready for the spectacular Cirque du Soleil

Stage during intermission - no photos were allowed during the show

Stage during intermission – no photos were allowed during the show

(c) Nordic Odyssey, 2013. All rights reserved.

3 responses to “A Glimpse of Cirque du Soleil

  1. Hey I am so delighted I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Aol for
    something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thank you
    for a marvelous post and a all round exciting blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over
    it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much
    more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words and spending time looking through my blog. I’m very glad if you can find something useful here. Please drop by to read more. I try to publish new posts as often as possible, but it’s all more fun, if I have readers. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

