Scandinavian Christmas

I’m spending this Christmas in London with my boyfriend. Despite us being far away from my motherland, I’m of course organising a Scandinavian Christmas for us. See below some of the ways I’m decorating to create authentic Finnish Christmas feel.

IMG_5841 - Version 2

Christmas Eve morning starts with poached eggs, smoked salmon, home-baked bread and strong coffee.

IMG_5842 - Version 2

Christmas dinner table decorated with pine tree branches, candles and Christmas flowers

IMG_5843 - Version 2

Marimekko (www.marimekko.com) makes the nicest napkins which suit every day life and celebrations

IMG_5859

Silvered reindeer from Pentik (www.pentik.com) is one of my most treasured Christmas decorations

IMG_5866

White amaryllis is a perfect Christmas flower

IMG_5864

Homemade Christmas bread is a must for Christmas Eve

IMG_5863 - Version 2

Reindeer carousel is a cute addition to the Christmas table. When you light the tea light, the carousel makes little glistening sound, which is very relaxing to listen to.

IMG_5874

Favourite Christmas cards from friends

IMG_5839

Gingerbread cookies baked and decorated by my dear friend Daniela!

IMG_5871 - Version 2

Our flat is too small from a Christmas tree so I created an alternative version. Diptyque candles may not be Nordic but the Cypres scented candle creates beautiful, Christmas scent which is well suited to Scandinavian Christmas.

IMG_5858 - Version 2

It’s so easy to make your own candle Christmas decorations using good quality long candles (I bought these from Aria http://www.ariashop.co.uk), pine tree branches and small Christmas ornaments.

IMG_5802

Classic Advent Star is elegant and looks magical in darkness. I ordered this online from Scnadiliving (www.scandiliving.com)

IMG_5833 - Version 2

For the desert, Cloudberry Parfait with soft dairy toffee. Thank you Mom for sending me cloudberry jam this year! Clouberries are hard to find in London but the best availability is from Ikea.

Happy Holidays!

(c) Nordic Odyssey, 2013. All Rights Reserved.

3 responses to “Scandinavian Christmas

  1. What gorgeous decorations Kristiina! I love the Scandinavian twist, and your ‘tree’ in particular. Ooh and the reindeer and the candles, just lovely. That brekky looks incredible too, my tummy’s rumbling…

  2. I do not even know the way I ended up right here, but I thought this publish was great.
    I do not realize who you are however certainly you are going to a
    well-known blogger for those who are not already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

